Therapy

Today I made it to my reunion, and boy did it feel good to get out of my Mother's house at last and let others care for and entertain her.
(A carer came in the morning and  early evening, and her sister came for lunch. )
Meanwhile I took the train to Coventry. First I visited Alan's house for a chat  over a coffee. My blip shows his partner's dog Sophie, who is a Tibetan Terrier or Tsang Apso. Sophie works as a therapy dog. Isabelle takes her into schools and libraries where reluctant readers or nervous children are encouraged to read to her. Apparently, in no time at all, they are cuddling her and showing her the pictures in their  books!  I, too, am nervous of most dogs but found Sophie quite a soothing presence.

Then Alan and I headed off to Ullesthorpe Court Hotel near Lutterworth to meet our three friends for  lunch. Six years ago, we went on an assignment  to Sierra Leone to set up a vision centre and provide basic eyecare for local people. A year later, Phil and I returned, to carry out some teaching of optometric students and optical technicians. We've never all got together since, so it was a treat today, to catch up and reminisce. The extra shows the team, clockwise from bottom left: myself, Phil, Ewa, Alan and Janet, waiting for our meal.
When I arrived home in the early evening, all was well and my Mother  had managed  to cook her own dinner, so it had been a good day all round, and excellent therapy for me.  
          

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.