Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Danglers!

Can't think which particular correct botanical descriptor fits them, so I'll call them Danglers. This is a particularly pretty pink one on my Christmas cactus. I love that the pink on the other plant is almost the same shade.
Another busy day tradesman wise today. The painter was here at sparrowfart again up on the scaffolding to prepare and paint the chimney. He knocked on the door to tell me that the previous painter had left a lot of mess up there and so he'd taken a picture to show me it wasn't him. When he showed me the picture I noticed there was a tile missing, so I texted the roofer who was due to come today to fix the front gutter and asked him to bring a couple of Rosemary tiles.
All this before 9.30 in the morning, my body is in shock!
I'm not surprised that the previous guy left a bit of a mess on the tiles, he painted the house using climbing gear and ladders lashed to the roof rather than scaffolding. My neighbour said her heart was in her mouth watching him! Admittedly he was more of an international skier, gardener and artist than house painter but he was very keen and could talk the hind leg off a donkey! He wasn't particularly good at differentiating between plants and weeds either, lol. He was a real character though with a heart of gold, who looked after my garden for around 10 years and did lots of odd jobs too.
After all the house dramas, I went down to Craigleith for some shopping then on down to Morrisons. When I got back I found our door unlocked and realised that there was a problem with the lock. We phoned a locksmith who had done a repair a couple of years ago and he sent someone out an hour later. We now have a new lock and have had to have an extra 10 keys cut. I'm not convinced that even that is enough though. (3 keys came with the lock as a start).
The roofer came after lunch, he'd got my message and replaced 5 tiles and left me a couple of spares. These rosemary tiled rooves are just great. (that word just doesn't look right but I can't bring myself to write 'roofs' !) Rosemary tiles are small and red and used double overlapped so although they can break occasionally they are easily replaced and as they are doubled rarely develop leaks.
The front gutter repair has had stage one done, the rest will be done tomorrow.
We've been so lucky that the roofer could come so quickly and make use of the existing scaffolding.
I have my church study group this evening so we're having a quick tea, cold roast chicken with oven chips and beetroot, one of my favourites.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.