Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Through the glass dimly!

The workmen were here at 7.45 again this morning and the weather was OK, I hoped for a few hours that the forecast was going to turn out to be wrong, but no!
The painters have covered our windows with biodegradable 'plastic' which from my point of view is good as I feel less exposed when they are working outside. It does mean that I can't see a thing when I look out, although you can still spot the nerine! The other half of the blip shows the covering from the outside.
I'm astounded by the awareness of the children. I told Isobel, who was 6 last month that our windows had plastic over them, to which she replied 'Oh dear'. I said it was OK it was to keep them clean. She said, 'Not very good for the environment though, using all that plastic!' (which is why I clarified above in my blip). They really do learn early in school these days!
Off to church this morning and the weather was still good thank goodness. I did a bit of repair work to one of the altar frontals where the braiding had come away - fortunately somebody had a needle and thread with them. A woman of course, I can't imagine a man having a needle and thread with them, just in case!
The painters didn't get a lot done, although the scaffolders came and the scaffolding is now up as you can see on the blip. So much scaffolding, and so much money just to paint two chimneys!
From around 1pm its been foul weather. Heavy and very wet, rain. I've been glad I didn't have to go out, I cleaned out the fishtank then retreated to the lounge. I've dug out my heated throw so I'll be cosy tonight!
Stay dry folks!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.