Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Take my breath away...

I have to remind myself sometimes why I keep this Blipfoto journal - it's to record the little moments in my life - the things I can look back on and smile or remember a feeling. So, today I decided on the beautiful Baltimore Oriole - the first one I've seen this year. They are glorious birds, bright orange with black trim and their song is lovely. I did an early morning nature walk with the Naturalist over at Kittatinny Valley State Park this morning and we were treated to several orioles singing from high up in the trees. Hard to get shots at that angle and from such a distance, so this is insanely cropped. And it's not going to bear up to any scrutiny because it's not all that crisp ... but when I look at this, I will remember the sound of the song and the clear morning air.

Some other cool things that I saw this morning ...

A pair of Crescent Butterflies, doing their spring-time thing!
A teeny, tiny Cricket Frog ( a first for me)
Several big, beautiful Eastern Tiger Swallowtail butterflies
And even a Black Swallowtail, who wouldn't sit still for a proper portrait

And then I locked myself out of my car. Yep, way to kill the buzz of the morning. Fortunately, I had my phone and was able to call a neighbor who wasn't too far from where I was - he came, picked me up, drove me home, waited until I found the spare key, and drove me back to my car. And, by the way, I had Big Daddy and the D600 strapped to me the whole time - a dutiful Blipper!

A little relaxation time on the deck where I was joined by the whole family of blue jays, this one looking as if he'd heard about the car incident and the irrepressible Scar who has learned how to pouch an entire peanut, shell and all in his cheek. Seriously, isn't he the cutest thing ever? I very nearly blipped him, but decided the oriole needed to be recorded.

Black lentils, quinoa, and wild rice salad for dinner tonight with a lemony dressing...and some sort of adult beverage...

Happy Friday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.