A frosty walk in the Botanic Garden

It was lovely to see LauraMuir again at breakfast-time this morning. She stayed a short while, and then I walked with her in the freezing cold part-way along her route to Waverley station. We parted company at Real Foods on Broughton Street.

I had intended to return straight home and spend the rest of the morning in the kitchen making Christmas puddings and chutney, but the weather was so beautiful that I decided that I should make the most of it while it lasts. The new plan was to take Mr hazelh for a walk around the Botanic Garden in the winter sunshine. It was wonderful, especially with a break for a rich hot chocolate with marshmallows and cream, and freshly baked fruit scones, in the café. I took several photos along the way. This made the choice of blip today rather difficult.

I still thought that there would be time to cook this afternoon once I had completed a little spot of work. Unfortunately as soon as I switched on my work computer, I noticed that access to my main drive on the University network seemed to have disappeared. I can achieve some tasks without this, but not all. I spent much of the rest of the afternoon on the phone to our technical services staff trying to retrieve my files. At 5pm the files were still missing :-(

This evening has been more fun with a trip down the road to pick up the scarf that I left behind at ArcLight's flat last night (and consume a little beer and chocolate), a sprout supper (I love sprouts), a win at Azul, with Monday night's quizzes still to come.

Exercise today: walking (16,182 steps).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.