Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Damn! Why didn't I get that engineering degree...

Yes, another view of the House Wren, busy building the nest for his lady-love. I've dubbed him Boris because of his can-do attitude. I watched him from my office window for at least an hour this morning, amazed at his optimism when handling a stick way bigger than himself, commiserating when he got frustrated, encouraging him when he started to look defeated, and giving him a big Attaboy when he finally worked it out..

At one point another wren showed up with a twig, another male I think since the females don't get involved in this part of the nest building. A small "discussion" ensued with much flaring of wings and the interloper flew off with his twig. Yay, Boris! Every so often, Boris would take a break and sit on a branch and sing to get his mate's attention (I'm thinking Matilda - what do you think?). She would come over, look in the box, shake her head, and leave. Okay, maybe she didn't shake her head, but I'm sure she muttered under her breath. At the moment, there are twigs sticking out the front door and every side vent in the box. It's a bit of an embarrassment, actually.

I have a speaking gig tonight for the local Chamber and then tomorrow I am heading into NYC. I've got an appointment with the facial therapist who's been working with me post-brain surgery on getting function back in the part of my facial nerve that isn't working properly. She practices in Wisconsin but travels to NYC once or twice a year to see private patients and do grand rounds at NYU Langdone Medical Center. I've come to consider her a friend (as well as being brilliant at what she does). I will see her late tomorrow afternoon and then she and I will go out for dinner and a few glasses of wine, which will be great fun.

I've been debating whether to take my D600 or D90 into the City, but have decided to just take the little Coolpix. It's lightweight and unobtrusive which is better for the street photography that I'm hoping to do. I'm planning to spend part of the afternoon tomorrow and Friday morning on the streets - weather should be perfect and I'm itching to try some more street shots.

Still trying to catch up on comments - bear with me, okay? :)

xxoo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.