An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Tay Rail Bridge...

I took this shot of the Tay Rail Bridge as we left Dundee this afternoon after attending my friend Fiona's Dad's funeral.  I almost didn't blip it as I thought it wasn't that long since I blipped a very similar shot but I was shocked to find it was almost ten tears ago!!!

David's funeral was one of the loveliest funeral services we've ever attended.  So often, particularly when the main / only service is at the crematorium, it can feel a bit short and a little impersonal, especially if no family members are speaking.  

Today no family members were speaking, but Dundee Crematorium offers a longer service time than many crematoriums and the Celebrant used the time well and spoke very movingly about David, giving us all a real sense of the person he was.  She had obviously listened well to Fiona, her mum and her sister when they spoke of him.  She skilfully and movingly talked about his immense artistic skills, his kindness, his love for his family and his excellent sense of humour.  It really was a moving and uplifting service.

At the hotel afterwards it was lovely to catch up with Fiona's Aunt Jean who was also a childhood friend of my mums.  She's in her 80s and a bit forgetful now but I would have recognised her anywhere.  I got quite emotional seeing her as many childhood memories came flooding back.

Spent most of the time chatting to a friend of Fiona's who I've heard lots about over the years (and she of me :-) but we hadn't actually met.  She is a 
Course Director of the Arts at a prominent Scottish university and every art teacher in Scotland will have been taught by her at some point.  She was fascinating to talk to and as you can imagine I had lots of questions for her.  I am sure we'll meet up again :-)

Before leaving the hotel I arranged for Fiona to come to mine tomorrow so I can photograph her latest painting before she continues on to Glasgow to deliver it to her client.  Fiona isn't heading back to New Zealand for another couple of weeks so I am hoping we will have the chance for another get together before she goes.

Home and D cooked a lovely steak dinner afterwhich I conked out for over an hour.  The emotion of the day had drained me.

Photo of my mum and Jean in extras.  My mum is on the right and Jean on the left :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.