Up Top

Although it was technically a ‘dooking’ day, our immersion was cancelled because my co- dooker has still not fully recovered from the latest respiratory virus doing the rounds - not Covid, not Flu but something that makes one feel even worse. As I pointed out to her, being so under the weather doesn’t exactly promote the advantages of cold water dooking even though we realise things might have been even worse. 
Secretly I was not too upset about the cancellation as the outside  temperature was said to feel like-7° and the tide was at its lowest at the time we usually go. Instead I did a walk in the bitter chill but under a  uniformly blue sky. The fluffy clouds appeared later. The sun is still shining but I know it is snowing in the north and the weather is on the way south.

Later I’m expecting my niece and husband from Fort William to pop in. They have a flight early tomorrow to somewhere warm although I have quite forgotten where. I will find out over a meal tonight. I can’t remember the last time I felt warm, so I’ll try not to feel a little envious.

On my walk, the street outside was almost entirely blocked by giant cranes and there was a man crouched perilously high up on the ridge of a roof. Vertigo was not a word in his vocabulary.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.