En fete

A busy day - off to Skibbereen to a rather quirky shop that sells, amongst other things, rather quirky headgear. Yes, I was after a topknot to go with my glam 20s dress for the wedding. A suitable confection has been purchased consisting mainly of black feathers with a bit of netting! It made me laugh a lot but I think it will work. I had to leave my name and telephone number for there was a slight concern that the mother of the groom had purchased the same thing and to use the shop owner's expression 'She would go mental!' Things are obviously hotting up. No phone call yet so I'm assuming I'm safe.

Then into Schull to purchase tickets for the Film Festival that's starting this wednesday. This is a wonderful Festival which prides itself on having no cinema. A big screen is put in the village hall and intranet is put in all the pubs and cafes where the films are shown throughout the day. A fringe festival is held in a horsebox! There are about 200 films being shown and each programme is about an hour. It's wonderful you can sit with a cuppa or a beer, and watch some excellent stuff. It's mostly free but some events are priced. I booked to see a couple of films where the director is also available for questions afterwards; and we shall also be travelling to Long Island by ferrry (all of 10 minutes) where someone is showing a programme in his living room on a big screen. Beer, popcorn and a tour of the island is also included. Unmissable.

Anyway, all of Schull is now en fete with banners and bunting, and this ancient petrol station was getting a quick lick of paint and amendments to the signage. This would fit in nicely with Himself's occasional typography series. What the old boy in the red cowboy hat was doing I don't know but we waved gaily at each other.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.