Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

TAXI!

I was at Festival City again today (yes, aprecious - A MALL!), with G this time as her student needed 30 minutes more between school and her lesson, so we went to Ikea for a cinnamon roll and coffee deal and then to Hyper Panda to spend that Dh 100 I won last week.

G has got a Scholl foot spa! Woo hoo! Something she's wanted for years. Not used yet as it was a bit late when we got back home.

I've had to have a passport photo taken for a medical (AIDS) test I have to do to get the residence visa stamped in my passport. ALL expat workers have to do this test. If they fail it - they get deported. Simple! [That of course means there are no foreigners with AIDS in this country.]

So back to this image - which is taken from the second floor of the Mall looking out towards ACE Hardware and one of the areas where taxis pull up to pick up/drop off passengers. You will notice straight away they are all the same beige colour! This is so as not to confuse tourists with different coloured cars. Never mind that they all have the TAXI sign on top!

All taxis/taxi companies are monitored by one body and to identify the different companies, you look at the different coloured tops! I managed to get 4 here - missing ones are Yellow and PINK! Yes Pink taxis, driven by women and only ladies or families can travel in them. True story. Of all of them - it is the orange ones to avoid the most. They don't quite adhere to the same standards as the rest of them. I'm still wondering how they get away with it.

I shall have to tell you some taxi facts, but it will have to wait as it is midnight and I haven't even got to comments!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.