NightOwl45

By NightOwl45

Dunblane, 27 years ago today

My telephone appointment with the GP this morning went very well. It’s really helped. I changed GP last year and it has made such a difference - so grateful and fortunate to have such a patient, understanding and supportive doctor after over a decade of some quite frankly awful GPs.

Today is the twenty seventh anniversary of the Dunblane massacre. The woman in the main Blip is Gwen Mayor who was then aged just forty five. She is an absolute heroine in my book. What a brave woman she was, she died with three innocent five year old children in her arms.

I remember I was at Secondary school that day - our Maths teacher came in and told us what had happened and I will never forget the look of utter shock on her face. I much preferred her as a teacher and person than her subject - how I despised double Maths - I must have made her life a misery with my lack of mathematical prowess! 

My younger brother and another Maths teacher I had later on taught me to be much better and I recall saying in utter frustration to one Maths teacher, “Why does it matter, we’ll all have bloody calculators in our pockets or bags one day!” That didn’t go down too well but to be fair, I’ve been proven right haha.

There’s a photo of Gwen Mayor and her class in the extras. I have been deeply saddened that as the years have passed by, there seems to been less and less said about that terribly tragic day. I hope she and all those children that died at the hands of that evil man are never forgotten. I can’t imagine what their families must go through every day, let alone every anniversary.

Today has been a high pain and fatigue day - higher fatigue than pain which I kind of prefer. I paced myself and did very little housework.

Need to book in for my annual asthma review tomorrow and ordered my various asthma inhalers.

This evening, I took a stroll to the supermarket to pick up milk and porridge and a few bits for the morning and spotted my other extra - it really raised a smile…clearly a choice was made!

I texted some friends back this afternoon too. I managed a couple of Duolingo German revision lessons tonight after a dinner of pasta salad.

Unfortunately, I broke my learning streak due to that extended fibro flare up but back on Day 2, one streak freeze used up yesterday. I will catch up again and keep my streak going as long as possible. I love it, it’s such a good pain distraction.

The rest of this week is going to incredibly busy with health appointments and life in general but I do my best to Blip daily, even if it’s shorter rambles and one pic!

Thanks for all your kind comments, hearts and stars, I really appreciate them and enjoy reading them as I try to get moving of a morning.

Hope you’ve all had a good start to your week too :) xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.