The second half of life..

By twigs

Perpetual motion

Normal service has been resumed - left Paparoa Point in glorious sunshine once again.  Into Kaikoura for some supplies and to refresh the van's supplies then opted to drop in to South Bay where I had seen a dotterel last time I was here.  A walk down the beach didn't reveal any dotterels but it did reveal an intersting happening further out in the bay.  There were a couple of bright yellow double kayak's clearly visible from the shore and when I looked more closely I noticed the kayakers weren't paddling, but were watching something going on around them.  A closer inspection (long lens look!) revealed a huge pod of dolphins racing, jumping, twisting and splashing all around them.  Not close so as to cause concern to the kayakers, but close enough for the paddlers to clearly be mesmerised by this ultra special event.  Of course, I shot some pics (most of which are rubbish but I've added one to extras) and from those pics I reckon the pod would have been over 100 dolphins.  In one shot alone I counted 35 fins/splashes!  Another lady was down on the beach too and she told me she'd been watching them from her house for the past 2 hours.  What an amazing spectacle to see from your living room window........and for those kayakers. I bet they're buzzing telling their story to friends and family tonight.
On then to a place I had seen recommended recently.........further along the coast at Conway Flat.  It's a park-over-property that is simply a paddock overlooking the ocean.  I say 'simply'........it's pretty stunning.  Took a walk down onto the beach on dusk to capture the waves on the gorgeous black sand then popped outside to see if I could capture the emerging Milky Way centre.  Sadly, the clouds muscled their way in.  Another included in extras anyway.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.