Apr 22

I have to post a happier photo today. This is one of my new additions today. I stopped at 3 different garden centers and came home with 3 trays of plants. I bought some pansies and some primula, as shown in this photo, some geraniums and begonias, as well as a couple of house plants.
I posted some photos of the daffodils at the Cancer Survivors Garden in a local FB group with a comment about it being sad to see a group of teenagers hanging out there, destroying some of the flowers. That set off a lot of comments. Some people thought I should have called the non-emergency police line, but by the time they would have gotten there, the kids likely would have been gone. Then there were the comments about parenting. Today, someone sent some photos of the damage to the local MP, and he made a post about it. Not that he can do much about it, it is a city owned park, but he could call the mayor and get more policing in that area. I took one photo with the kids in it, but they are too far away to be identified. Most of the 30,000 daffodils that were planted by volunteers are alright, it is only a couple hundred in one area that have been damaged, for now.
Other than that, it was a good day. The first cruise ship of the season was in port today. I think I may have spoken to one of the passengers while I was in Mahone Bay. There was a tour bus there, and when I was walking back to my truck a woman was standing in the middle of the sidewalk. As I approached, she asked me where the bakery was, if it was where the open flag was just down the street. Obviously she was a tourist, and there were quite a few other people around the area too taking photos of the buildings and carrying shopping bags.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.