Global Attitude

By GlobalAttitude

Girl with the Silver Earring

Not exactly Vermeer, but appropriately abstract for my mood. It was a good day, in an odd, eclectic sort of way. Especially late this evening, I'm feeling very reflective.

This morning we enjoyed a leisurely family breakfast - but my youngest was absent (overnight with friends) and we had a guest who stayed over with one of my girls. It's always interesting to observe how others, particularly teens, react to our family dynamic. For the most part, our kids' friends are amused by us and like spending time here, despite the noise and chaos inherent in a large family. My own teens try to brush us off as slightly annoying and embarrassing, but I can tell they are happy their friends feel at home :)

This evening we went to dinner at the home of some expat friends who also have four kids, and are from different countries. She is French, he is Swedish, they met in Hong Kong, married in Las Vegas, and have lived in Syndey and London. Redefine Fascinating! Once again, the evening started early and went very late, and we could have talked for many hours more, indulging as we were in wonderful food and wine, with the kids happily playing together.

During the evening we talked a lot about where we would love to live at different stages in our lives, and why. Of course it makes me consider what makes a place a good home. I often think I hate living here because the weather is so depressingly miserable much of the year. But I've met the most amazing people here! We have an incredible circle of interesting, multicultural, fun and supportive friends. My social schedule is packed. And the river valley landscape is lovely. Would I trade all this for 10 months a year of sunshine? Truly a hard question. I've had good friends in better climates, but never such wonderful, stimulating diversity - oddly bound together by the common denominator of our expat existence.

I told our teen guest this morning, she's most welcome to stay as long as she likes, but I'm not trading any of my kids in the bargain. So it is with life in Germany, if I had to trade what I've gained, moving away would never be worth it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.