Global Attitude

By GlobalAttitude

Just Another Monday at Work

Crazy, insane busy day! Taught at the high school in the morning, then arrived home planning to finish some document translations, and answer numerous client emails. But got a call from my favorite client that she really needed my interpretation services for some bank issues, prior to a scheduled doctor visit. So I squeezed in a few calls before she arrived, but then was tied up with her for most of the day. This image is her son getting a filling at the dentist. After this, I took her to set up an urgent physical therapy appointment - and since they could get her in right away, I interpreted for that as well today and scheduled the follow up treatments.

When I finally got home from a full day of teaching and interpreting, I still needed to finish the document translations. I'll be out of the house at 6 am tomorrow to meet two sets of relocation clients at the government registration office in Dortmund and the documents I have are required for that meeting.

But as I was trying to finish those translations, one of the clients sent me a picture of a notice left on his apartment door today from a utility worker with a number to call if they can't let the worker in tomorrow morning. Of course, my client had no idea what the note said, which is why it was sent to me. And thus I had to translate it for him, ask when he wanted the appointment rescheduled, then call the utility company to arrange it. Then back to my regularly scheduled (and repeatedly interrupted) translations.

Anyone surprised that my daughter then urgently needed me to edit her German speech on international alcohol regulations? Of course not.

Just another day on the job(s)!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.