IN THE AFTERNOON

I collected some red clover plants. On my way there I saw the swan pair with five eggs in the nest. I wish heartely that this year they will have more luck than the past two years, when nothing happened for such a long time.
The queer, white and brown spotted, duck swam around with 6 ducklings.
In the morning I had a strange experience. I walked, camera in hand, and found under the oak on a leaf an insect I had never seen before. Was it a moth, or a strange little butterfly? I wondered.
A difficult spot to make a picture but I tried and went to look what I got,
Then came the sun out and I thought that I perhaps could make a better picture.
I went to the same spot and to my surprise there was another insect, never seen before too. First I had thought it was the same one, because she had the same colours more or less.
In my guide book I found one of the two , it was probably a leaf bug, (miridae - Rhabdomiris striatellus) and I fear this one had dined on the other one, which I would have liked to identify. But I am no detective, right? Someone who is could look here for the leaf bug and here for the other one,
Under an oak it could be as well a Calocoris striatellus.
But am I that curious?

My haiku:

I feel a giant
When I kneel and lay on earth
For creatures below

And the proverb:

Het helpt zoveel als een himphamp op een mosterdmolen.

Translation:

It helps as much as a handle (or a chunk) on a musterd-mill.

Himphamp is not a normal word in dutch, it could mean a handle or a chunk









Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.