I FOUND THE SWAN FAMILY

at the Heempark, they had left their hidden place between the reed for some time to eat of the duckweed just around the corner.
The whole morning I had worked on the books, for some time with Piet Hein, to choose books for the pink case. And then I put dutch literature books on a chronological order, more or less.
Late lunch for that reason. I felt happy in the Heempark where I walked to later, the flowers so abundant, a soft sunshine gave a marvellous light and when I saw some ladies taking pictures, with enthusiasm, I knew it was the swan family with the babies that I enjoyed so much.
They walked on, but I stayed for a much longer time. I had some oatflakes for the mother and with a big hiss she accepted it. The reed made it sometimes a bit hard to focus on them. Only when they returned to where the nest was I made my blip picture for today. Father swan I did not see, I fear he went to chase the one year old swans at the big pond.
When I came home I suggested to Piet Hein that we could eat at one of the 'strandtents' at the shore of the sea. And we did, and although there was a strong wind (never seen so many kite surfers out at the water) we enjoyed it, the view, the meal, the little cycle tour.

My haiku:

Inside and outside
I stay and go the different
Words do they connect?

And the proverb:

Als zij/hij wat vertelt, weet zij/hij er altijd wat bij te borduren.

Translation: When she/he tells something, she/he knows always to embroider more around it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.