THE WATERLILIES

in a pond in Landsmeer.
I travelled today to Amsterdam, to meet our friend Cor who awaited me at Central Stattion. We drank coffee nearby from where we saw the Nicolaaskerk at the other side of the water and when Cor said I never have been inside the church, mostly it is closed when I walk along. The door however stood open and we walked towards it and stepped inside. Today is Hemelvaatsdag, a festive day, and when we entered a Holy Mess was halfway. We attented the last part and I lit a candle afterwards.
Now we could admire the beautiful inside.
From there we walked through the Red District and again to the station where we crossed the IJ on a ferry.
Cor had wanted to visit a new opened park near the Hembrug, but on festive days it is closed. Another plan had to be thought of.
I did not want to travel far from where we were and the Twiske was the best solution. The weather was not what we hoped for but it did not rain and although it was cold our walk was pleasant enough.
I saw the waterlilies and they looked so marvellously white between the green. It had to be my blip for today.
After drinking tea we headed traditionally to the Thai restaurant and from there I took the train back. A real nice day, pleasant if cold.
Rather late to catch up but tomorrow I'll be back again.

My haiku:

Waterlilies fresh
And white between the green leaves
A silent island

And the proverb:

De engeltjes snuiten de sterren.

Translation: The little angels blow the stars.

Superstition beliefs that the angels make the shooting stars.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.