Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Ay, Ay, Skipper!

Does anyone else out there remember the old TV show, Gilligan's Island? in its time, it was quite the thing what with Gilligan, Mary Ann, the Skipper and all the rest of the crew.

All of which has virtually nothing to do with today's blip other than the fact that this tiny butterfly is a skipper. I think it is a zabulon skipper, but I am not 100% sure - the skippers are all a bit confusing to me. Anyway, it's very small, as can be seen here - that is a chive blossom it's perched on. I also saw a very cool 8-spotted forester moth - a first for me. It was flitting around the garden and it was all I could do to get two very quick shots. I also got a really scary spider shot (don't look if you're an arachnaphobe) - in the interest of full disclosure, I was on the other side of a big window of double-pane glass when I took this. And I had the heebie jeebies for an hour afterwards. This is the big spider who lives on our kitchen window (outside).

Lots of Ebony Jewelwings in the yard today and I got a few shots of them with wings wide open which is kind of an unusual shot with damsels.

I forgot to post a link yesterday to the latest picture of the black-capped chickadee brood, two weeks old. They should be fledging the nest box within the next few days and I'm really hoping to see it and get some shots of the first flights!

Our temps hit 90 F today which is freaking hot. Last week it was in the 40's and today this ... Well, at least when it's this hot the dragons and butterflies are out in force!

Thank you for your comments, stars and hearts on my Ovenbird yesterday! It was such a thrill for me to be able to get so close to this rather elusive little bird, so thanks for sharing the excitement. :)

Happy Thursday...

xxoo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.