Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Did you SEE that??

I had so many choices today ... but I decided that I liked this one the best. This is (I believe) an American Toad. He was tucked all the way back under a ledge of rock and I would never have seen him if someone on my walk hadn't pointed him out. I had to wedge my little bridge camera under the ledge and let it take the photo on Auto - which turned out just fine. Sometimes the camera is smarter than I am.

The highlight of the morning was when someone in our group came across a large Timber Rattlesnake - it was cause for lots of excitement following a loud "Oh crap!" from the person who "discovered" him. I didn't get great pics - because no one would go down and remove the shrubbery and branches that were blocking my view (really - can you believe it?) But it was very exciting. These snakes are considered "threatened" in our area and I've never seen one before. We also saw/heard lots of birds, quite a few butterflies and a really good selection of odes (dragons). I've posted my favorite nine shots from today (including a couple taken after I got home) on Flickr - click HERE to view.

It was a perfect morning and just what I needed. Hubs is making his way back from Long Island and should be home in a few hours. There is a nice bowl of shrimp/mango Thai salad in the fridge and some na'an bread to go with it.

And, yikes, only two more days until Hubs leaves. We decided last night that I'll fly down to St. Pete for the weekend in two weeks, so at least our initial separation won't be too long. Still, I'm feeling very unsettled by the idea of him not being here. Guess it's time for me to get my Big-girl-panties on and stop whimpering.

Happy Friday, people.

Debbi

And today's Re:focus challenge was "trash" and my entry is HERE - I think it is a unique take on trash!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.