Viewpoint

By Viewpoint

Pye Flatt Meadow, Hoylandswaine

I was archiving some images yesterday morning when I came across orchid photos taken at Pye Flats Meadow last year.  I thought I'd probably left it too late this year but when I checked the dates I'd actually taken them on the 16th June, so a day out.  So I made an impromptu visit on my way to Cannon Hall.  Our first dull day for weeks and there was a short spell of light rain while I was there, but what about the Common Spotted Orchids.  Well I spotted a few, but not the quantity I've seen in previous years.  The ones I did see were at the best stage of opening and had not gone over as I feared they might in the weeks of sun we've had.  It seemed to me that the competition from other plants might have been overwhelming this year.  Quite a disappointment.  I think it's at least 12 years ago that I began photographing in the meadow.  Brian and Liz Parkhurst would have been upset to have seen this.  They regularly photographed the meadow and kept record of the plants they saw and supported Danny Clarke with his work with local schools. 

(Brian and Liz were active members of the Penistone CC)


p.s. I've just discovered that I didn't visit in June last year but at the beginning of July 2022.


My memory of glorious orchids on a bright summer afternoon go back to 2021.

2020 Partial lockdown

2019 - early morning when I took the image that was selected for the Beautiful Barnsley exhibition and for the Help the Aged pack.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.