DUCKLINGS

The weather has been really nice today - warm with lots of sunshine. So I made the effort to go out. Still not feeling 100% but getting better every day.

Decided to pop down to Blaydon - its not far away but isn't easy to get to by bus from here. I got a bus to the Metrocentre and then caught the Blaydon bus.

I got off the bus before it reached Blaydon so that I could go down to Shibdon Pond Local Nature Reserve. A few folk were down there feeding the swans and ducks. I took a shot of this lovely MALLARD. I had forgotten to take my bread so a woman who had a whole carrier bag full gave me some so I could feed the birds. Mind you they didn't seem very hungry. I guess that a lot of people had already fed them throughout the day. I took loads of photos and it was hard to choose one to blip but I decided on this one of some cute ducklings. This shot only shows a small selection of the ducklings on the pond - there were loads of them swimming into and out of my shots.

I then got the bus to Blaydon. The place is undergoing renovation at the moment. A lot of the old shopping centre has been knocked down and a big new Morrisons is being built.

Neil works in Blaydon and I popped in to see him.... but he had a day off today. As he is staying at his girlfriends I wasn't sure if he was at work or not. I did get to meet a couple of his workmates so that was good. Did a bit of shopping before getting 2 buses back home.

Hope the weather stays fine tomorrow as it would be good to get out in the garden and get some jobs ticked off my list.

My daughter Becky has just phoned - she was on a ( very noisy ) bus coming home from Westfield Shopping Centre in Shepherds Bush. She is off on holiday tomorrow - staying in a cottage in Bergerac in France. It sounds wonderful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.