rower2012

By rower2012

Street Art for #300

We enjoyed hearing Bencran57 sing last night at the Festival Centre, and a birthday lunch today with my children. Then on the way home, I spotted this street art on a car park wall in Pulteney Street in the Adelaide CBD. I felt the colour and vibrancy made this a suitable subject for celebrating my 300th blip day.

Clearer art.

Street Art is not to be confused with Graffiti! Street art adds colour, life and vibrancy to open spaces. It gives artists a chance to make important social and environmental statements, or add decorative vitality and humour to otherwise dull places.

Adelaide City Council has responded to the demand for more street art by approving some Council-owned property to feature murals. Street art is a form of public art that allows artists to experiment with their skills and techniques, and explore ideas that challenge the public.
It can generate comment and questions about Adelaide's future, celebrating the cultural richness and diversity of our city. I also want to make it clear that I am totally opposed to graffiti, which is the damage and destruction of the property of others.

If you had suggested to me when I started with Blip that I would make 300 blips, I do not think I would have believed you. I had no idea what this would lead to, and I also had no anticipation regarding the wonderful people I would meet on the blip meets here and in NZ.

On the other hand it has constantly challenged me to take better photos, to expand into different areas of photography and to strive to improve my blips at all times. I will also do my best to present a diversity of varied subjects in the future.

A big thankyou to all of my blip friends for following me this far - for the comments you have given, and for the stars, hearts and subscriptions received. To Paladian - my sincere thanks for your help, patience and total support on the journey to 300.

Now to push on to the one year milestone, and hopefully keep on improving and expanding my wonderful group of blip friends. This blip thing is addictive in a healthy and positive way! I love it.

SUMMARY
The first 100 blips summary is on my 100th blip journal page.
Here is a contents summary for my last 200 blips from 101 to 300.
On the 2nd June, 2013 when I reached my 300th blip, there was no time that day to look back at making a summary, so here it is.

42 Birds
32 Bugs and Macros
30 Nature & Gardens
23 Art & Architecture
23 Landscapes
9 Portraits
9 Food
8 Animals
6 Sports Action
6 Transport
6 Streetscapes
4 Photo Journalism
1 Sculptures
1 Native American

14th November 2012 I blipped my 100th entry

22nd February 2013 I blipped my 200th entry

2nd June 2013 I blipped my 300th entry

My most popular entry (most favourites) to date is my lorikeet of 19 May 2013: Landing gear down!

My 3 most popular entries were all bird shots.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.