horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Lambo in Wolf's Clothing

At Thirlestane Castle today there was a rather dazzling array of automotive interest - some cars were pretty; others muscular; there were the tiny; and the yellow;the weird; and the wonderful; others brought back nostalgia (mainly for sticking to vinyl seats in the summer); and all the while the owners lapped up the sun.

But this.... This is the Lamborghini Countach. I'll admit it's not necessarily pretty (Mel describes it as 'hideous'). It's low slung and aggressive, brash, with a V12 that screams at you. And for the last 30 years or so, ever since I saw one in Cannonball Run, I've lusted after it. Today wasn't just a case of 'seeing' (I've seen a few over the years); but a donation to charity saw me clambering into the passenger seat for a 20 minute spin. I was worried I'd be disappointed, but unfortunately for Mel it's just made me love the car more. It was more comfortable than expected; with less cabin noise than anticipated. And the kick when the foot is put down... We were following a modern Dodge Viper, and apparently that gives up at about 5,500 revs - there's more low down torque, but the Countach just keeps going and going and going.

I stepped back out with the widest grin possible on my face. A stunning car, on a beautiful day.

Meanwhile, Mel's dad George, who I was there with, liked the Austin Allegro Estate. Each to their own.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.