14-Spot Ladybirds

I swear I haven't got a warped mind, despite my recent ability only to find insects in mating modes.

These are the most common of the Ladybirds that aren't red. They are 14-Spot Ladybirds, Propylea quattuordecimpunctata. They're fairly common throughout England and Wales but become scarce in the south of Scotland and absent in the north. I found these climbing around the Buttercups at the edge of my garden. Smaller than most Ladybirds, their colours vary between very pale cream to yellow and orangey and the geometric spots most often join to form a distinct pattern on their backs. A melanistic version which have a black body and yellow spots are not rare.

There was another strong breeze blowing incessantly today. It keeps most of the insects at bay. It must be a good year for these little creatures as I'd seen more than normal over the past days. The others must have seen my camera and gone into hiding!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.