Banded Demoiselle

There are a few insects that remind us of fairies but, few are as beautiful or suggestive as the Banded Demoiselles, Calopteryx splendens. They are another species that, although common in the South of England, become scarcer the further north you travel. They are found along canals and other slow moving waters, preferring those with muddy beds.

This is a male which is easily identified by the bright blue body and has a black band on it's wings. The females are iridescent copper/green in colour but are not nearly as noticeable. There were many Mayfly around today and the Demoiselles were feasting on them. I did get a few images but they were rather gruesome! Of all those I took today, despite not being the sharpest, this was my favourite.

The rain did fall again this morning, but I forgave it as my salad got a soaking. The wind is not giving up and in the sunshine the soil is drying very quickly. This afternoon was bright and my walk along the canal was lovely and the dogs are now asleep having swum most of the length I walked. Apart from a couple of grumpy swans, only a couple of boats past us so the dogs had the waterway more or less to themselves.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.