An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

Black & White Beeches (at Old Sarum)

Yoyo-ing from 500mm lens yesterday, back down to 10mm here are the lovely old line of beeches on one of the ramparts at Old Sarum fort, near Salisbury. Not since my Low Flying Aircraft blip had I taken the Nikkor 10-24mm lens up there.

I had intended to go earlier, to get the leaves fresh and lime green, as in black & white, they'd appear lighter, especially with green filtration at the mono conversion stage. Lunchtime was not the ideal time either, with a high overhead sun creating extra contrast. But seeing friends that I'd not seen for ages and who are off to France meant this was the only time I was able.

Softness of contrast was my biggest intention, so that none is burned out, nor any inky shadows. So, selective contrast adjusting, depending on how bright and contrasty it was. The trees here seem to have extra large roots systems, to hold onto the chalk bank and much of it seems to be near the surface, as in this beautiful example. I could sit and listen to the wind rustling the leaves and branches, whilst the sun blinks through the bright lime green.

Have a look closer in LARGE

Thanks to all, who, yet again, hoisted my fiery dock stems in to the Spotlight, yesterday.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.