Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

flight day

Up to church this morning and a wander round the grounds afterwards. I took some shortbread to share at coffee things, which I'd made at the weekend. I love baking, but Colin doesn't really like cakes or sweet biscuits, so I need to give lots of it away so I don't eat it myself.
I popped into a couple of charity shops on the way home and picked up a couple of beautiful Little White Company cardigans for Josie. I don't think they'd been worn.
It has been much warmer today and sunny until late afternoon when we had some really heavy showers and string winds. I was in the garden at lunch time when it was warm and sunny and it was absolutely full of red admirals, I've never seen so many. I wondered if a group had all emerged from their chrysalis gether. My blip subject was clearly a little confused about its diet. There were others on the pear tree where one of the pears was damaged and has rotted. (Extra) I think they were getting drunk from the juice. They saw off a couple of wasps who had clearly considered the fruit to be their territory.
In my extra as well as the butterflies are a couple of shots of a silver lidded cut crystal pot I picked up a few days ago. On cleaning it and finally managing to find the hallmark I had been sure must be there, I found it had been assayed by Walker & Hall in Chester in 1901. (The hallmark is tiny and just to the right of the oak type leaf, if you are looking for it.) The face looks rather Indian, but there's is nothing else to say where it came from.
I spent the rest of the day cooking some mince and a steak casserole to pop in the freezer for the girls. This evening we watched another episode of the Tower. We are now half way through the most recent series.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.