WE CHOOSE TO MEET IN HAARLEM

friend Cor and I. To walk around the centre and beyond. A beautiful old town Haarlem is, famous of course of the Frans Hals museum and Teylers Museum, which we did not visited.
We walked simply in all directions, along the canals and the singels, upon the Bolwerk and the Kenaupark.
After eating our simple lunch at a bench near the Stadsschouwburg, we visited the Kathedrale Basiliek van St. Bavo, we admired the archictecture, the works of art and after that walked in what later appeared the wrong direction but eventually we reached the Haarlemmer Hout, the large park with very old trees.
There is a city farm with deers, some lamas, pigs and many other animals.
We walked from 10.30 am till five o'clock in the afternoon but in a quiet tempo that did not really made one feel tired.
By car we drove to Amsterdam to have a Thai meal and then I took the train and light rail back home. A special, very nice day!
The poppies I found in a small front garden and I choose them because of the cheerful colour. Another nice picture I made of the dome of the cathedral (you can see it here if you like), but in the end I prefer the natural world above the architectural.

My haiku:

Our feet have a law
Of their own they lead the way
And we simply follow

And the proverb from the Apocrypha:

A faithful friend is the medecine of life.

Too late to catch up now, but tomorrow I will!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.