IT RAINED HARD

when I awoke and the thunderings we heard all morning, mostly at a distance,
At lunch the air had cleared and we could eat lunch outside again. A lot cooler what we liked a lot.
I noticed the flowering of a poppy and took pictures of this beauty.
To my astonishment a couple of hours later it was invaded by hundreds of little beetles. All eating whatever their tiny mouths could find.
I called Mischa, who sat on the balcony writing.
We both took pictures of the amazing scene. Mischa made one of it her blipfoto. You can see it here.
The beetles look like the Attagenus pellio, but I can be easily wrong about that.
Not much left of the poppy now, but it was astonishing to look at them anyway.
They were to be found on roses too and on this scarlet flower I show in my picture.
Piet Hein drove to Beverungen, he had errands to do there and brought his picture that he took underway and several food things back.
Tired as we were Mischa and I looked at the late afternoon a movie, it took almost as long as the picture lasted to choose one.

My haiku:

I did not see them
Flying and wondered in what
Formation they came

And the proverb:

As innocent as a devil of two years old.

1678 in J. Ray, A Collection of English Proverbs. and later (1738) in J. Swift: A Complete Collection of Polite and Ingenious Conversation.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.