Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Happy Father's Day

I can't think of a better image to say "Happy Father's Day" than this hard-working Downy Woodpecker feeding his baby daughter. I was kind of hoping for this when I got up this morning ... and while I was talking to my parents on the phone this morning, Papa Downy flew up, followed by his awkward daughter and this scene unfolded. As I talked to my own dear Dad, I clicked away with the camera, and thought how lucky I was to have such wonderful, caring parents.

Shortly after this shot, the little gal got spooked and flew straight at hubs and I, landing awkwardly on the plant shelf right behind us (less than 2 feet from my head!) Moments later, another one tried for a landing on the deck rail, missed, and ended up in a pot of flowers. Honestly, they are so entertaining to watch as they figure out their new wings.

I was able to look in the wren nest box (only through the hole as I am afraid to open the box for fear all the twigs and babies will come tumbling out.) What greeted me was at least 3 gaping little beaks - so cute I think I may have squealed in delight. Papa wren appears to be guarding his young ones more than adequately from the interloper.

We discovered a cardinal nest (active) in a large shrub outside out garage - hubs was about to trim it when he saw a pair of eyes and red beak looking back at him. He slowly backed away and then came to fetch me. I can see the nest (barely and only from the bottom) by sticking my head in the shrub and craning my neck around. We'll stay well away from the shrub to give them lots of privacy. And I will continue to chase the neighbor's cats off our property with a vengeance!

My second poppy popped this morning - this is from the envelope of seeds Jillymint sent me from her garden last fall! I love poppies!

Here's hoping that all the father's out there have a great Father's Day!

xxoo
Debbi

PS, and if anyone is wondering what Katy did, please click HERE

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.