Some Days ............

.......... are just good days ...... and this is one of them.

Splash of red amongst the green (it's worth it)

I replaced the suet feeders with seed last night and early this morning I was woken by tweets and chirrups rather than screeches and squawks .... two adult sparrows feeding two cute, fluffy babies and not a starling in sight.

Downstairs for the camera but, by that time, the sparrows had flown *sad face* ....... caught sight of this woodpecker but couldn't get a decent shot from the kitchen so ended up laying on the floor in the dining room and trying to get a good shot through the French windows, past the apple trees and over the old log we have by the pond - 36 shots and only two keepers but I am pleased with this one - actually makes my garden look green and lush when in reality it's a bit (lot) of a mess right now as my mower has been at the repairers for almost two weeks!!!

Your response to my Squabbling Starlings yesterday was off the scale - I really liked the shot but never imagined for one moment that you would like it as much as you did - as I write this you have generously given them 284 stars and 15 hearts as well as many, many lovely comments .... all I can give you back is a heartfelt thank you very, very much.

Last year's journal entry couldn't be more different!


My thoughts go out to the families and friends of the four American soldiers who are the latest fatalities out in Afghanistan.




NIKON D5200 : f/5.6 : 1/200" : 300mm : ISO 800

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.