Northern Exposure

By Northern

Breakfast

After yesterday mad rushing around today was more relaxed.

Once we had dismantled the tent Steven took the boys and a picnic down to the barriers to do a bit of fishing. I brewed myself a pot of coffee and took breakfast and a book outside to enjoy the glorious midsummer morning.

I then enjoyed myself immensely cutting the grass and earthing up tatties. I hardly never cut the grass but I needed the clippings to mix with compost to earth up the tatties. Have to say it's a lot more pleasant using the push mower that we bought last year than the powered ones we had before.

Around 2pm I got a call to say they had caught 2 fish and they were heading back to Diedeldaisy's to cook them on the BBQ and they'd meet me there. A quick shower to remove the eau de manure and 15 minutes later I found myself eating strawberries and laughing in a very pretty sun drenched garden.

It really has been the perfect Orkney Midsummer weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.