South

South is where all the drama has come from today. But nowhere near as rough for us here in Christchurch as in Wellington. Someone I know has a daughter in the suburb of Mirimar and all her windows were blown in last night.

I left home in snow and it was soon lying on the ground. It never really settled over at university and by the time I got home only a few patches remained around home. The ground is saturated.

Large is colder

My roof man has examined my leak from the inside. Once the weather clears he'll attend the offending bit of roof. The bizarre thing is that the highly paid EQC assessors wouldn't examine roof (despite visible wave lines etc) because it is "too high". Roofs are by definition high. But Darryn the good bloke is onto it.

Too many passes are closed and there is a heap of snow in the back country. No overnight trip for hpx :-( Maybe I'll get to do a wee trip on Sunday but the issue is the amount of snow. We'll see.

My hill run tomorrow morning will be interesting. It might be too snowy and greasy and I'll need a plan B. I'm sure I'll find some fun :-)

Stay warm if you're in winter, cool if you're in summer.

I drove to work (rather than bike) and still wore those gumboots (with sheepskin and possum slippers at my desk). And that was the shortest day for 2013.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.