HAD I FORGOTTEN

that I was curious if the swan pair had finally their off-spring hatched?
A bit indeed, so I had in mind to walk to the harbour today to find out.
But the green shield bug took my attention first and was curious what I had in stock for her. She could feel my presence that was clear enough. After posing she disappeared under a leaf and later climbed the plant higher up.
I saw the protective parents change of place and discovered that only one egg was left (of the previous 5). This one will not hatch either, because I had learned in the mean time that the policy here is to discourage as much as possible the augmenting of numbers of swans, or ducks for that matter.
The strange white duck swam happily however with her 5 young ones, really bigger than the last time I saw them.
A shoal of many little fish I observed too in the water.

My haiku:

The wild roses are
Heaven for amazing numbers
Of curious insects

And the proverb:

Die zijne/hare tong niet bedwingen kan, dient geen raadsheer te zijn.

Translation:

The one who cannot suppres his/her tongue, csnnot serve as counsel.
(or perhaps councillor is meant))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.