Capital adventures

By marchmont

The church that Robert built

The Robert being my b in l's grandfather, Rev Robert Sinclair who used the plans of the now former Old Parish Church, Cambuslang,minus the spire on the tower. More about him in the extra.

It was a long, 12 hour day today and Marthandum was the first, unscheduled, stop. Took a bit of finding the church as Google maps didn't differentiate the flyover above the road through the time. But we made it. Didn't see inside, not sure if it was open and a bit of me regrets trying, due to the 'time constraints'. But I got my photo taken by and with the 4 beautiful young women, to add to the many photos taken with me outside the hotel by random guests.

Then on to visit a palace in Tamil Nadu. It's the Saturday of a public holiday weekend. It was hot, very crowded, one way up and down stairs and with very little info in either Tamil or English. I didn't enjoy it. 

I enjoyed the next stop less, a Hindu temple that was like a large storehouse for odds and sods with very dark compartments for nearly visible gods. I had a guide for this but it was a rush as the place was about to close, for lunch. 

We went on to the town at the end of India and I had a lovely lunch, dry coconut chicken in a hotel restaurant, and a beer. 

Then b to the island where some mentor Ghandi meditated for 2 days in 1892. It required a boat trip. Very well organised but rammed and a lot of queuing there and back. Luckily the adjacent large statue is closed as a bridge is being built. Again not something If have probably chosen to do myself. That's the problem with these kind of organised tours, you end up going places , doing things not in your control. I wonder what odd places visitors to Scotland have to endure?

Back on dry land I did body serve the Hindu temple but did walk down to the end of India. It was mobbed. There were events on for the public holiday and loads of people. I looked at the 3 seas and people watched.

Then we drove down to Sunset point for the 'main event'. Being early I had a good view. It seemed to be all local families many of whom were in the C water. 

It was all over by 6.30 but a long drive home, what appeared to be cross country, that took till 9. I listened to my book.  It was fascinating to see the towns at night and pass the churches all lit up and open, some garishly covered outside in multi coloured fairy lights and to pass a group of Hindus queuing to honour a god carried at the side of the road. I dumped my stuff (the missing bottle found lurking in the bottom if my bag) and went down to the prom for dinner. G&T, fish in banana leaf, chocolate ice cream and beer, served speakeasyish in a mug with the bottle wrapped in newspaper under the table. I was reminded if my experience in San Diego in 2010. 

Then back to fall into bed. I was so late the outside bar on the roof terrace had also been put to bed for the night. Luckily the music from the Hindu temple next door had stopped. Shrug it wasn't the day I'd have chosen it was an experience. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.