Capital adventures

By marchmont

The sands of Poovar

A late start this morning, 10am, so I spent the time, lying in bed, reading my phone.

This morning's trip was to take another busy trip, #4, at Poovar to see mangroves (following Queensland, Sarawak, Vietnam and Penang), estuary, surf, Holden sands, coconut plantation etc, etc. It was almost 2 hours, pleasant but expensive, again. I did talk to some interesting people on the beach: the lifeguard and a lovely Indian family who wanted the inevitable photos with me.

I thought I'd manage the lighthouse but it was closed for lunch so I had a quick change at the hotel and then down for lunch. The extra is for Sally. Lunch was very good but very slow mainly due to disorganised service perhaps caused by a large group of Russians. It was also the first time I'd been in a restaurant where the majority of the dinners were European..

Then to the beach. I spent some time bouncing in the surf and being bowled over. and lounging, dozing and listening to my book. Before 6 I was back in Santana for an non alcoholic sundowner. 

I returned there for dinner after a shower, change and starting the packing. Fresh prawns tonight but again slow set ice but I was happy with that, enjoying the balmy evening.

The Hindu festival has been going on all day and there were fireworks tonight but I could only see bits from my room. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.