Capital adventures

By marchmont

Wandering

I had a day that was much more 'me', out exploring on my own, doing my own thing 

After an uncertain start (why are Indian beds so hard?) I slept well and had a great chat over breakfast with the honeymoon couple from Colorado. He's a Laurie. 

Then I headed out and walked yo to the north tip and then across to the west coast, avoiding tuk tuk drivers and street traders, who are usually ok when you politely decline. I had cake and iced coffee in the garden of the heritage bungalow that houses an art gallery and café. Great music, Dire Straits, Queen and Fleetwood Mac! Then back north and the long walk past the Coastguard HQ and the rice warehouses to Jew Town. By this time I was in agony from my bag irritating my sciatic nerve, and I'd brought everything except the brufen. 

Had lunch with the eastern shore in the Ginger House and was joined by a really interesting woman, Swiss from Zurich, also travelling on her own. We talked travel, Scottish and UK politics and feminism. 

Did some shopping, well the girls' t- shirts and walked back, west. Google took me through lanes and by ways but I got back eventually and went straight to the pool. Relief! But I did 17k steps. 

Rest before dinner which was odd. Only me and after waiting 30 minutes for the beef to be cooked they brought the dessert, which included over cream out, before if finished the beef! Well last night my salad never appeared. But the surroundings are beautiful.

Tomorrow is the last day. I thought I'd have an evening to kill but turns out PM Mohdi is in town so it's a 6 pm.taxi for an 11.15 pm flight plus an increased fair, to avoid the traffic. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.