Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

We're ready, mom!

This morning when I was having my tea, I noticed that the baby wrens were poking their heads way out of the box, and that Mama was making her chattering call non-stop. Later in the morning, when I went out again, the box was empty except for a big Wheel bug who was investigating. I could hear Mama and the fledglings calling, but wasn't able to see them in the undergrowth. But, they are off on the Forest Phase of their training now - may the Avian Force be with them.

It was another bonus day for babies - lots of downy woodpeckers and cardinal fledglings at the feeders. I can hear the titmice up in the trees, but haven't seen the kids yet. The blue jays are being unusually quiet so I think they've got babies still in the nest. And I think the nuthatches may be feeding fledglings now too - I saw a very scruffy looking parent hauling off peanuts today.

I posted the 8 favorite shots from today (all birds) starting with one of the juvie cardinals, starting here!

It was stinking hot today, along with the dreaded "hazy and humid" too - big yuck. Hoping it cools off a bit before BikerBear arrives at our house next week. The forecast for the next few days is more of the same, so my sorties outside will be short in duration. Hubs is on vacation this week, so we'll do some things around the house. He's got a big race this weekend, so he's getting the car ready to go. And, in big He Man Racing (yep, that is the name of his team) news - they bought a brand new trailer for the race car. It's a monster - 24 feet, enclosed. Lots of manly excitement going on.

Well, off to have dinner now - I made a grape, blueberry, quinoa salad with blue cheese and pignoli nuts. Yummy!

Cheers...
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.