I WALK SLOWLY

as fast as a snail through our garden. My eyes wander from plant to plant, from flower to flower. Although it is after nine o'oclock in the morning, it is still rather dark and it feels cold too.
The peony flower (the only one so far and probably that will be the case for this year) on her stem bows towards the ground, since the rain she stays that way.
I stand still and move it upwards, not much left of the pink beauty, but look a caterpillar had found refuge in the heart.
I find a stick to keep it upright. And start taking some pictures, ISO very high!
Better look what I have till now.
After one hour I start again. The caterpillar has not moved, could she be dead?
Softly I touch her, she is alive, she rolls herself up. A minute later she unrolls and start moving.
The wind blows the petals away and the caterpillar let herself fall down.
The birds will not find her.

My beetle in yesterday's picture is probably a blue ground beetle, carabus intricatus or problematicus. Thank you 36SaraEvans for putting me on the right track.
Most beetles are protected in Germany due to the changing environments that endanger many species.

My haiku:

One caterpillar
One butterfly I see too
Are they related?

And the proverb:

Daar mocht wel een verfkwastje op.

Translation:

A paintbrush could do good there.

Meaning:

Not only said of a paintless house but also of a paintless person.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.