Sprout lover

By robharris35

Grace

My Tanzania work permit has now lapsed and we’re busy arranging the renewal. There is a commonly understood ‘grace period’ covering the thirty days after a permit has lapsed, during which a person either sticks around and hopes the new permit will be ready, or leaves the country at some point during the grace period. I’m doing the latter to travel to Mozambique next week, and work from there whilst the renewal is finalised. As none of this is written down, I am wary of reaching an immigration official at the airport and being accused of having an outdated visa. However, we try and fret less and take challenges as they arise.

In the evening I had a Zoom lesson with Yusuf, who was morose because someone had dug up and stolen his water pump during a power outage. Swahili noun classes continue to stump me. Somewhat mercifully, a power cut at my end terminated our lesson early.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.