Little House on the Meadow

I've been in a little bubble for the last couple of days, pretending that the pressure isn't as great as it really is. A little self-delusion can often be useful but the pretense can only withstand against the reality for so long. The bubble burst this afternoon and I've felt very deflated since, exacerbated by other events which I can't really talk about here.

After knocking out the best part of a hundred hilly miles over the last two days I took the short route to and from work today, the legs demanding an easier commute in terms of pace and distance. The afternoon rain arrived earlier and lingered longer than predicted, scuppering a lunchtime wander around Market Square. Needing to find some kind of blip I spotted this wee building on the way back. I've ridden past this scene on countless occasions but never before registered it. It gives further proof to the extent to which learning the art of photography is all about learning to see. I would have sworn that I'd already framed every possible composition on my commuting routes, but I keep discovering new ones. I was quite thankful tonight.

And I'm sorry that my hopes to spend some time looking at journals tonight has been somewhat overtaken by events. Thanks for the comments yesterday. It felt good to get back to basics!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.