Lovely to meet you

The new (ish) arrival of one of my work colleagues, with her equally beautifully mummy. Although the image has been 'tweaked' a little, really, those baby blue eyes really are beautifully blue. She tried to alarm me with a bit of crying but I persevered.

She is the first baby I have held since the operation. I have kind of dreaded baby moments. Even though it was a moot point, that the operation had to be done, that I had decided no more children of my own...sometimes seeing babies did make me broody.

Slept late today - my sleep patterns are dreadful and it seems that no matter what steps I take to ensure an unbroken night, I am waking at least 5 times during the night and am restless for a significant part of the time when I am 'sleeping'. My sleep monitor activity does not make good reading. I think this is partly because I still have difficulty finding a comfortable position to sleep in, my restless legs thing makes me frustrated and unsettled and like an old man with a prostate problem, I have to go to the bathroom at least twice during the night.

However, it could be worse, and I am sure it will settle in time.

No gym today but Corin and I have just been on a 4 mile walk so I have been active at least.

Tomorrow, gym in the morning then over to see my Mum. She and my Uncle and Aunty have the unenviable task of sorting out my Nana's house. In the last few days it has finally started to hit me that she has gone and I confess that thinking about it does make me want to weep. I'd give anything just to wind back the clocks a few months to when I had my last phone conversation with her. Instead of telling her I would see her after my operation, I would have said "put the kettle on, I am coming over to see you".

Make the most of those around you and don't take a moment for granted.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.