North from Almscliff Crag

I was totally overwhelmed yesterday by your response to Friday's blip of Roam and Forrest. I posted late and was greeted in the morning to this host of wonderful comments. I was out all day and so was greeted again last night with more of the same. The boys have read them all and wanted me to thank you on their behalf. They don't say too much but I'm pretty sure they were very touched by your words. And I was very deeply touched indeed. I could easily get quite emotional. Some of you I barely know at all because I've just not had the chance to visit many journals lately. I feel bad about that but I hope you understand that it's not for any other reason than lack of opportunity. To friends and strangers alike then, I can only offer a huge thank you right now. You are just the best.

I overslept in the morning (my body clearly needing the sleep) and was just a little late getting to Knaresborough Cricket Club to watch both boys play for Ben Rhydding Seconds. It took exactly an hour door to door, with a bit of wind assistance, and I arrived to see Forrest at the crease with a few runs on the board already. He fairly rapidly got to fifty and the scene was set for him to get a lot more. He has scored five centuries in his career so far and I've yet to see any of them. Could this be the day?

He had driven the field out to the boundary with some aggressive strokeplay but as he was forced to run more singles he clearly grew rather tired and the strokes got a little lazy. He chipped and sliced a few in the air which somehow alluded the fielders and I began to have doubts that he would last much longer. It seemed to take a long while for him to get into the traditionally nervous nineties but once there he didn't mess with my head for long. Without ever looking fully in touch he finally hit a sweet four to bring up that elusive hundred for his old man. He admitted afterwards that he was more nervous around this one than any of the others because of the fact that I was watching. It was another very proud moment as a father.

He was eventually dismissed in the final over for 117, out of a score of 274, Forrest actually getting very little of the strike in the closing overs. The pitch was good and it proved difficult to get opposition wickets. Roam wasn't at his best and failed to strike in his opening spell. He gave way to Forrest who bowled well in a long tight spell of 12 overs, conceding only 26 runs but, having used up all his luck up whilst batting, he went wicketless too. Although it wasn't exciting cricket it was still compelling to watch as wickets did gradually fall. In the end it came down to the last pair and Roam bowling the final over didn't quite manage to get the one wicket needed to take the full six points. But the team would have taken five at the start so there was still much to celebrate.

I'd pretty much forgotten about food all day so my cycle back under darkening skies was not as brisk as the outward leg. I also took a detour via Almscliff Crag in order to get some kind of blip. I arrived home late and by the time I'd had something to eat I was feeling incredibly weary. I succeeded in having a much needed day away from the computer but perhaps not done much towards getting refreshed before a big day of bug-fixing on Sunday.

Forrest moves out of the house tomorrow so I guess his ton was a kind of going away present for me! Thanks for that mate. I know you called it a shit ton but you still did me proud. You can score a better one for me next time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.