Global Attitude

By GlobalAttitude

Roaming Roads

Today was rather focused on my daughters. Soon I'll need to balance it with more time and attention for my sons (although they did dominate dinner conversation) and there will be ample chance for that, as my daughters are one and a half steps out the door. It makes me a bit sad at the same time that I am so happy for my girls on their adventures.

This morning my oldest (18) took the train to Hamburg where she will spend most of the next five weeks. She has a service project/internship to do for school and will be spending time with her uncle and grandparents. She is excited. She loves her independence and somehow I have a feeling that good things are in store for her this summer. I have no idea what - I just sense that she will be well. When I took her to the station this morning she seemed happier than I have seen in a long time. So while I miss her already, I am hopeful for her, too.

Then this afternoon my second daughter (16) and I spent time together on a long walk, where we talked about what she wants to do school-wise and where she hopes to study and why. I'm happy about some of the decisions she has made for the short-term because I believe she will get a more rewarding education, open herself to more opportunities, and have more fun along the way than her previous plans to go straight to vocational school. Her longer-term goals make me wistful because she still wants to return to the US for an advanced degree and imagines she will not return to Germany, although this is where her father and brothers and I will most likely be for at least another 10 years.

While plans may still change and I'm pleased she feels secure enough to explore the world, of course, I will miss having my daughter close. This evening she and I met with one of her friends and the girl' parents to hear about and discuss plans the teens have for traveling along with a third friend this summer, to Rome. They've done their research, we've reviewed the conditions and precautions, and tonight we allowed them to book the trip.

On the drive home from her friend's house, we pulled over and tried to capture the glowing orange sky as the sun sank behind clouds. I like the road in this image, and imagine it is the road taking my daughters to their destinies....

Here's an excerpt out of a blog I wrote more than a year ago, about giving children roots and wings...

There's a saying (often attributed to Goethe, but not sure this is accurate): "Give your children roots and wings." Teach them responsibility, give them a firm foundation, a loving and safe home, and them set them free to fly. These lessons start when they are young in small steps. One day the neighborhood park; later, a cross-country trip to relatives; eventually, maybe, backpacking across several continents. Children should be empowered to take on the world, exploring, learning, growing.

Maybe if I tie my sons to my apron strings help my boys grow stronger roots, my nest won't be empty too soon ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.