LadyFindhorn

By LadyFindhorn

And Again…….

It’s very reassuring to meet up with people my own age and discover that I’m not alone in the vicissitudes of being a person with a bus pass. I had been invited for lunch with my school chum and two friends from the same year group. The hostess was up from London to her family home in Leith and was accompanied by her husband and brother so we were a merry group of six. There was hardly any organ recital but a lot of catching up on lives lived since work and school. 
Never think that the older members of the population don’t eat heartily because we do and I admit to second helpings of delicious chicken stew but didn’t dare ask for more upside down pudding. Sufficient unto the day and all that.

Perhaps I was being greedy but I had survived a dip in Porty at 7:30 with only a slice of toast to suffice. It was a lovely sunny day  but the wind was icy and there was much standing in it as the city seemed gridlocked with traffic at a complete standstill at road junctions. I’ve never seen it so bad . Is this a taste of things to come?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.