The second half of life..

By twigs

Fantail action!

Headed out to Eves Valley this afternoon thinking there may be some interesting fungi after last weeks rain.  How wrong I was!  I never saw a single one BUT I did chance upon a delightful scene that had me riveted for quite some time.  There were of course a few tui and fantail - as to be expected, and I even saw a bellbird.  The surprise came in an open area where about a dozen or more fantails were feasting on a massive swarm of midges high up over the trees.  For those who aren't familiar with fantails they flit......constantly!  They're agile, quick and unbelievably friendly so there were a few instances of a bird chasing midges around my head.  Getting one in frame is a challenge - getting one in frame and focussed - a big challenge........but I do enjoy a challenge so I stuck with it and was very pleased to come away with a good handful of decent images (and a good few hundred crap ones!)  which I've collaged together.  

I checked on Monty Jnr and Cuzzie at breakfast time - no sign of Monty and Cuzzie still had his old coat on.  Checked again before I went out - Monty busy munching and Cuzzie has changed coats.  Darn - missed him too!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.