Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Bibio femoratus

Or, in laymen's terms, one of the March flies.  It was quite cold when I spotted this little creature on one of our patio chairs.  I tried to jostle it a bit for a better view and it promptly fell to the ground where it stayed.  I should have run in and grabbed a macro lens, but decided to just grab a couple of shots with what I had which was the 300mm lens.  Overkill for such a small insect, and consequently, not a great quality image.  But it's a new yard record for me so I'll let the image stand.  

Had a nice long FT chat with mom and dad this morning.  And after that, I went down to the lower end of our property where I'd installed a new nest box to see if I could make it more secure.  The bluebirds have already started a nest (no eggs yet) but I really felt like I needed to replace the pole the box was on.  So, I bored a new pole about 2 feet away from the existing box and then carefully moved the box itself onto the new pole.  All under the watchful eye of Mr Bluebird.  I then removed the original pole.  Hopefully this will work - no reason it shouldn't.  Jax supervised the activities from the comfort of the deck.

I wanted to spend some more time outside this afternoon but it's quite chilly and I'm still not feeling 100% so I found some things to do inside and limited my outdoor time to short sorties.

Hubs and I watched "Fried Green Tomatoes" last night which was really a beautifully done movie, although a bit dark at times.  I probably saw it when it first came out in 1991, but honestly didn't remember any of it.  Definitely enjoyed it.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.