Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Flitty

The Blue-gray Gnatcatchers are one of the early migrants each spring arriving before most of the warblers.  They are quick to set up breeding territory and waste no time starting to construct their tiny nests made of lichen and spider webs.  This is a female; the male has a darker "uni-brow" which always makes him look quite grumpy.  They are very tiny birds and spend their time in trees and shrubs gleaning insects so they are constantly on the move.  I was quite pleased with this image even though the background is busier than I usually like.  

I was supposed to see my rheumatologist this morning but the lab hasn't gotten the blood work done yet so we've rescheduled for next week.  There isn't much point in seeing him until he has all the tests he ordered in hand.  I thought I'd allowed plenty of time at 10 days, but I guess not.  There is one particular test that takes a longer time and I think it has held everything else up.  

With unexpected free time today, I decided to leave Jax home and take myself and my camera out for some nature therapy.  That is when I found the gnatcatchers, as well as some bee-flies and other early insects.  I have to stay well covered because of the doxycycline I'm taking for tick bite fever but it was on the cool side today so didn't mind being in long sleeves and hat I(and trousers, of course!)

Last night we watched "The Sting" with Redford and Newman and it was delightful.  Hard to believe it came out 50 years ago.  I always have the impression when watching a film with these two actors that they had great fun working together.  Kind of like watching George Clooney and Brad Pitt - you just know they are having a blast.  

I think dark with salted caramel today.  

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.