Global Attitude

By GlobalAttitude

The Saints Go Marching

Would you like a treat?

Then enjoy a few minutes with musical greats as they combine fabulous big band music with a touch of comedy :) Louis Armstrong and Danny Kaye.

Nothing pulls out the patriotism in a world citizen like living outside your homeland. I was never particularly patriotic back home, but now that I've settled abroad, I want to cherish childhood cultural traditions. And tomorrow is the Fourth of July, or American Independence Day (shed British Tyranny Day for my British friends ;). This particular holiday is typically celebrated with picnics, pool parties, outdoor concerts, and fireworks. Every child in the USA is on summer break by this date. So it's tough on us having it be a normal working day and the kids must go to school. We'll have a big party on Saturday and I'll probably post something red, white, and blue everyday until then :)

My children, understandably, want to do something special on the actual holiday, so they asked me to make an American dessert that they could share with classmates: Peanut Butter Rice Krispie Treats. This is a batch I prepared tonight, while a new American friend (neighbor I met yesterday) kept me and my red wine from feeling blue :)

Why did I chose "When the Saints Go Marching In" as today's theme? Because lately I'm very conscious of how earthly saints have helped me along a difficult path - and I was reminded today that karma has put me in the path of others who need a good favor or two... we all have a chance to be someone's saint at one point or another.

I hope you're smiling :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.